Meridian News
National School Board Recognition Month
January 19, 2017

January is designated as National School Board Recognition month and this year’s theme, “Rising Up,” reflects the efforts of thousands of men and women who help to shape the direction of Oklahoma public education and their collective focus on student achievement.

The Meridian district is divided into five geographic areas. Meridian’s board members live in and represent their district for a five-year term. Members are tasked with ensuring Meridian continues to fulfill its mission to provide customized education and training for individuals, industries and communities.

The current board includes Stillwater residents Jerry Franklin, President; Dr. Joe Williams, Vice President; and Gary Johnson, Deputy Clerk. Randy Kellogg, Guthrie, is the Clerk; and Sherri Huneycutt, Perry, serves as Member.

“Members of the board of education help shape the direction of the school,” said Dr. Douglas Major, Meridian Technology Center Superintendent/CEO. “These individuals play an instrumental role in the development of school policies and are the final decision makers on educational issues that impact each of the school’s partner communities.”

Meridian relies on the input and knowledge the board members provide to prepare a trained workforce for not only the Meridian district, but also the state. The board members have contributed to the growth and development of Meridian throughout its history.

To put board members’ tasks in perspective, they are responsible for decisions that influence nearly 900 high school and adult students in Meridian’s full-time career training programs, individuals who enroll in personal and professional development short courses and business-related training, and more than 100 staff members and 30 adjunct instructors.

“We are grateful these individuals are dedicated to their community and making Meridian a better place,” said Major. “School Board Recognition month allows us to thank them for the service they provide us as a school and to the district they represent.”

Photo cutline:  More than 2,700 community leaders currently serve on school boards throughout Oklahoma. These individuals help shape the direction of public education within the state. Members of the Meridian Technology Center Board of Education include from left to right Dr. Joe Williams, Randy Kellogg, Sherri Huneycutt and Jerry Franklin. Not present is Gary Johnson.


Leave a Reply